Shire History

shire town

The Shire of Ngaanyatjarraku was formed on the 1st July 1993 by the division of the Shire of Wiluna with the eastern area becoming the new Shire. This followed the report of the Local Government Boundaries Commission in 1992.

The first local government elections were held in October 1993 and 8 Councillors were elected unopposed. The communities, as originally stated in their submission to the Boundaries Commission, are committed to "mainstream" local government and the delivery of services by the Shire rather than any other organisation.